Bathroom Details: door, frames & hardware

Bathroom material details

Bathroom material details

I am very excited about how the bathroom is coming along. I am only waiting for the shower door to be installed. The bathroom seemed to be the right location to leave some exposed brick. The wall is small but adds warmth to the mostly grey bathroom. I preprared the wall myself with cleaning acid and treated it with a sealer (see working image here).

I wanted to use the old door that was on the bathroom when I moved in, however, it was slightly short. I devised an extension to make it taller and add a little detail of gold-leafed framing with frosted glass which allows a nice place for light to pass through the door. After studying the door shape and the door frame that was built by the construction crew, I bought some wooden frame stock and 2 pieces of frosted glass.

Door extension sketches

Door extension sketches

I wanted the extension to contrast to the aged surface created by removing several layers of paint from the door which was painted completely white. I love the inherent surface texture and the history it exposed of the colors previously used on the old door. It also works well with the grasello waxed plaster painted wall surface.

Bathroom door before and after

Bathroom door before and after

I searched for antique hardware for the door catch to work with the original hardware which needed to be attached to the inside wall, but I could not find anything, not even something new, so I made one myself out of brass. This is where my interior design and jewelry making skills sure come in handy! It fits and works perfectly.

Bathroom door hardware (new and old)

Bathroom door hardware (new and old)

Handmade brass door catch

Handmade brass door catch

Inside bathroom door

Inside bathroom door

Exterior of bathroom door with extension

Exterior of bathroom door with extension

Bathroom sink/mirror detail

Bathroom sink/mirror detail

I am also making wall sconces out of plumbing tubes for each side of the antique mirror. I am pleased with the marriage of old and new in this space, and the sink fits perfectly. It inhabits a new part of the bathroom which was previously part of the hallway, making the bathroom larger. More bathroom images coming soon…

2 thoughts on “Bathroom Details: door, frames & hardware

  1. Pingback: Lighting details: DIY industrial + vintage chandeliers | At Home in Florence: A Renovation Project

  2. Pingback: European bathroom design: exposed brick and gray tile | At Home in Florence: A Renovation Project

Leave a Reply

